prep logo

Flash at the Beach


Workshop galleries

Click here to see photos.

Click here to see completed projects.

About the presenters

Workshop Director and Presenter: Doug Ensley. Department of Mathematics, Shippensburg University

Doug Ensley is Professor of Mathematics at Shippensburg University where he has been on the faculty since 1993 after receiving his Ph.D. in mathematical logic from Carnegie Mellon University. While at Shippensburg, Ensley has taught over thirty different courses in mathematics and computer science. In addition, he has over fifteen years of experience running professional development workshops and mini-courses, particularly those that apply to discrete mathematical topics and the use of technology in teaching mathematics. These workshops have been presented at a wide range of venues including MAA Mathfests, Joint Math Meetings, the International Conference on Technology in College Mathematics, regional meetings of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, annual meetings of the Pennsylvania Council of Teachers of Mathematics, and various local school districts. Ensley is also co-author (with Winston Crawley of Shippensburg University) of the textbook Discrete Mathematics: Mathematical Reasoning and Proof with Puzzles, Patterns and Games, published by John Wiley & Sons. Recently Ensley was PI on an NSF grant (DUE 0230755) to develop technology-based learning material for the student-centered teaching of mathematical proof, and he is currently co-PI (with Kaskosz) on another NSF grant (DUE 0535327) to develop materials to help mathematics and science instructors learn how to use Adobe Flash.

Local Organizer and Presenter: Barbara Kaskosz. Department of Mathematics, University of Rhode Island

Barbara Kaskosz received her Ph.D. in Mathematics from the Institute of Mathematics of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw. She joined the faculty of the University of Rhode Island in 1982. Since then she has taught courses at all levels from precalculus, through all semesters of calculus, advanced engineering mathematics, to graduate real analysis. Her research activities focused around nonsmooth control theory and differential inclusions. She published many papers in this area and gave invited talks at many control theory conferences. Since 1998, she became interested in technology in teaching mathematics. She was the PI or a co-PI on three consecutive grants for technology in teaching from the Rhode Island Board of Governors for Higher Education. The grants supported integration of Maple into the URI mathematics curriculum as well as redesigning URI's precalculus course with a strong technological component. In 2003 she discovered Flash which became a true passion for her. She authored and co-authored with Doug Ensley, a variety of Flash based interactive teaching materials which can be found at:

At present, she is the PI on the NSF grant DUE 0535327. This joint project with Doug Ensley is focused on empowering educators in mathematics and sciences, who want to create their own materials using the wonderful tool that Flash is, by providing them with libraries of custom classes, templates, tutorials, and training. The workshop is an important part of this effort.

Workshop participants

Maria Andersen Muskegon Community College Lecturer/Instruct
David Basterfield Hillsdale College Assoc Prof
Ji Young Choi Shippensburg Univ of PA Asst Prof
Olwen Conant Cleveland State University student
Volker Ecke Westfield State College Asst Prof
Ian Frommer US Coast Guard Academy Asst Prof
Daniel Gries Merrimack College Asst Prof
Rose Jenkins Midlands Technical College Lecturer/Instruct
Colleen King Math Advantage Business/Industry/Government
Roberta Lacefeld Waycross College Assoc Prof
Michael Lively Northern Kentucky University Professor
Melissa Luebben Columbus State Community College Professor
Barbara Margolius Cleveland State University Assoc Prof
Erika Mignogna Cleveland State University student
Michael Molinsky University of Maine at Farmington Asst Prof
Sandra Ogden University of Cincinnati Lecturer/Instruct,Adjunct Instructor
Steve Rigdon Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Professor
Therese Shelton Southwestern Univ Assoc Prof
Roger Tobie retired retired
Clark Vangilder De Vry University Assoc Prof
Joseph Witkowski Keene State College Professor
Dorothy Zeiser Gwynedd-Mercy College Asst Prof

The site is maintained by Doug Ensley, who is solely responsible for its content.